Wednesday, January 25, 2006

What happened to the anti-ssm Liberals in the election?

In the last couple posts, I've been counting noses for the free-vote that Harper has promised on same-sex marriage. As part of that, we need to review the Liberals who voted against ssm in the last parliament. These are:
  1. Ray Bonin (Nickel Belt), re-elected
  2. Ken Boshcoff (Thunder Bay—Rainy River), re-elected
  3. Gerry Byrne (Humber—etc.), re-elected
  4. John Cannis (Scarborough Centre), re-elected
  5. Gary Carr (Halton), defeated by pro-ssm Garth Turner (CPC)
  6. Brenda Chamberlain (Guelph), re-elected
  7. Joe Comuzzi (Thunder Bay—Superior North), re-elected
  8. Roy Cullen (Etobicoke North), re-elected
  9. Rodger Cuzner (Cape Breton—Canso), re-elected
  10. Roger Gallaway (Sarnia—Lambton), defeated by Pat Davidson (CPC), whose position on ssm is not clear.
  11. Charles Hubbard (Miramichi), re-elected
  12. Jim Karygiannis (Scarborough—Agincourt), re-elected
  13. Wajid Khan (Mississauga—Streetsville), re-elected
  14. Walt Lastewka (St. Catharines), defeated by anti-ssm Wade Dykstra (CPC)
  15. Derek Lee (Scarborough—Rouge River), re-elected
  16. Judi Longfield (Whitby—Oshawa), defeated by Jim Flaherty (CPC) anti-ssm (?)
  17. Lawrence MacAulay (Cardigan), re-elected
  18. Gurbax Malhi (Bramalea), re-elected
  19. John Maloney (Welland), re-elected
  20. Bill Matthews (Random—Burin—St. George's), re-elected
  21. John McKay (Scarborough—Guildwood), re-elected
  22. Dan McTeague (Pickering—Scarborough East), re-elected
  23. Massimo Pacetti (Saint-LĂ©onard—Saint-Michel), re-elected
  24. Bernard Patry (Pierrefonds—Dollard), re-elected
  25. Andy Savoy (Tobique—Mactaquac), defeated by anti-ssm Mike Alan (CPC)
  26. Francis Scarpaleggia (Lac-Saint-Louis), re-elected
  27. Raymond Simard (St. Boniface), re-elected
  28. Scott Simms (Bonavista—Gander—etcc.), re-elected
  29. Paul Steckle (Huron—Bruce), re-elected
  30. Paul Szabo (Mississauga South), re-elected
  31. Alan Tonks (York South—Weston), re-elected
  32. Rose-Marie Ur (Lambton—Kent—Middlesex), retired, replaced by anti-ssm Bev Shipley (CPC)
  33. Tom Wappel (Scarborough Southwest), re-elected
  34. Bryon Wilfert (Richmond Hill), re-elected
  35. Paul Zed (Saint John, NB), re-elected

So, my guess is that there are at most 29 anti-ssm Liberals in Parliament. (I say at most because there are some in this list whose vote against ssm was a vote for the status quo and may vote against a change back.)

1 comment:

James Bowie said...

Good post. Good research.

Maybe this goes to show us that an MP should always respect the views of this voters more than their party.

Even though I support tht Civil Marriage Act.